Twitter @karen_ayton
Twitter @karen_ayton

Karen has played clarinet with Reading Symphony Orchestra for 25 years.  She is often asked to play with other local orchestras, including West Forest Sinfonia.  She helped form The Engelfield Ensemble with Stefan Hofkes, the conductor of Reading Symphony Orchestra, Nicholas Shipman, also on clarinet and Angela Good, soprano.  This high-quality ensemble has given lunchtime and evening recitals all over the south of England, including Cheltenham Town Hall and All Saints Church, Marlow.  She is also a member of The Malbec Clarinet Quartet (which can perform as a trio and on saxophones as required) with Nicholas Shipman, Emily Garrod and Oscar Arguelles. The Malbec can perform for concerts, workshops and as background music (a clarinet quartet would carry much better for an outside wedding or other event, for instance). In 2023, Karen acquired a top-quality Uebel Bassett Horn for her work with the Englefield Ensemble. This means that she is also available to play in performances of Mozart’s Requiem and Gran Partita. And she can book a second player if necessary.

Karen is a member of Polcas e Boas, a wind group which plays Brazilian dance music from the end of the 19th Century to the present day. See the website for more information www.polcas.co.uk 

Video Clips

Mozart Clarinet Concerto - 2nd Movement

The Englefield Ensemble - Shepherd on the Rock

Mozart Clarinet Concerto - 2nd Movement

The Malbec Quartet - PIazzolla’s Nightclub 1960 

Audio Clips

The Malbec Quartet - The Pink Panther

Poulenc Duo- 2nd Movement

Poulenc Duo - 3rd Movement

Jamaican Rumba (clarinet & piano)

Mozart Clarinet Concerto - 2nd Movement

© 2020 Karen Ayton

Chopin’s Raindrop Prelude (solo piano)

Take Five

Poulenc Duo - 2nd Movement

Poulenc Duo - 3rd Movement

Mozart Divertimento - 4th Movement

Mozart Divertimento - 5th Movement

Solo, Ensemble & Orchestral Repertoire

Download a full repertoire list HERE

External links

Angela Good        www.angelagood.co.uk

Nick Shipman       www.nickshipman.co.uk

Oscar Arguelles    www.oscararguelles.com

© 2023 Karen Ayton